Buffer pricing: the real cost for 5, 10 and 30 channels
Buffer pricing, the short answer: $0 for 3 channels on the Free plan, then $6 per channel per month on Essentials and $12 on Team when billed monthly, cheaper beyond 10 channels. For 5, 10 and 30 channels, expect $30, $60 and $135 a month on Essentials. Prices read on buffer.com on October 24, 2026 (taxes not specified). PlugKit, which we tested on a real Instagram account on October 22, 2026, costs $49 a month for 5 accounts, DMs included.
This page is part of the guide: Buffer alternative
Buffer plans as of October 24, 2026
Buffer, the social media scheduler, has three plans. It doesn’t charge per seat or per post, but per channel: a channel is one connected social account (your Instagram, your Facebook Page, your LinkedIn profile). Buffer says it last updated its prices in November 2025.
| Plan | Monthly price per channel | Yearly price per channel | What’s included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel at a time, 100 ideas, 1 user, 30 days of insights, API (1 key, 3,000 requests per month) |
| Essentials | $6 (channels 1 to 10), $4 (11 to 25), $3 (26 to 50), $1 (51+) | about $5 | unlimited scheduled posts (fair use capped at 5,000 per channel), 1 user, advanced analytics, first comment, API (3 keys, 7,500 requests) |
| Team | $12 (1 to 10), $4 (11 to 25), $3 (26 to 50), $2 (51+) | about $10 | unlimited users, content approval, access permissions, custom reports, API (5 keys, 15,000 requests) |
The AI assistant is included on every plan, and Buffer’s official MCP server lets you schedule from an assistant such as Claude.
How much Buffer costs for 5, 10 and 30 channels
The tiers are graduated: your first 10 channels stay at full price, and only the extra ones cost less. Here’s the math, billed monthly:
| Channels | Essentials math | Essentials | Team math | Team |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | 5 × $6 | $30 per month | 5 × $12 | $60 per month |
| 10 | 10 × $6 | $60 per month | 10 × $12 | $120 per month |
| 30 | 10 × $6 + 15 × $4 + 5 × $3 | $135 per month | 10 × $12 + 15 × $4 + 5 × $3 | $195 per month |
Billed yearly, at about $5 per channel on Essentials, 5 channels come to about $25 a month and 10 channels to about $50; on Team, about $50 and $100. For 30 channels billed yearly, the exact amount isn’t in our data: missing data (planned source: Buffer pricing page).
Over a year on monthly billing, 5 Essentials channels cost $360, and 30 channels $1,620.
What pushes your Buffer bill up
- Every account counts. A brand on Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn and TikTok uses 4 channels. Three brands like that and you’re at 12 channels.
- Moving to Team doubles the price of your first 10 channels ($12 instead of $6). That’s the price of unlimited users and approvals.
- The Free plan fills up fast: 10 scheduled posts per channel at a time and a single user. You can’t queue a full week at two posts a day on one network (14 posts).
- API quotas: if you automate heavily through the API, Essentials stops at 7,500 requests a month and Team at 15,000.
What doesn’t change: the number of posts (unlimited on paid plans, within fair use) and the number of people on Team.
Buffer free plan and trial
The Free plan has no time limit. Paid plans come with a 14-day trial; if you haven’t added a payment method by the end, the account simply drops back to Free. Without a card on file, there’s no surprise charge.
Buffer pricing compared with PlugKit
PlugKit doesn’t charge per channel but per tier of connected accounts: $49 a month up to 5 accounts (Creator), $97 up to 30 (Pro), then $3 per account from 31 to 100. Monthly billing only, prices read October 24, 2026. The full grid is on our PlugKit pricing page.
| Accounts | Buffer Essentials (monthly) | Buffer Team (monthly) | PlugKit |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | $30 | $60 | $49 |
| 10 | $60 | $120 | $97 |
| 30 | $135 | $195 | $97 |
How to read it:
- For publishing only, Buffer Essentials is cheaper up to 19 channels ($96 at 19 channels). From 20, it goes above PlugKit Pro’s $97, then becomes cheaper again from 70 channels ($215 vs $217).
- Buffer Team costs more than PlugKit at 5 accounts ($60 vs $49) and from 9 accounts ($108 vs $97); from 6 to 8 accounts, Team stays cheaper ($72, $84 and $96 vs $97). At 30 accounts, the gap is $98 a month.
- They don’t sell the same thing. PlugKit includes Instagram, Messenger, WhatsApp and Telegram DMs, comment-to-DM, broadcasts and sequences, none of which Buffer’s pages mention. Buffer publishes to Pinterest, Google Business Profile, Mastodon and Substack, which PlugKit doesn’t cover.
PlugKit has two variable costs: X API calls, passed through at cost ($0.015 per post) and capped at $20 a month by default, and Reel Studio video credits, sold separately beyond the included ones (10 credits for $15). The feature-by-feature comparison is in Buffer vs PlugKit. To see PlugKit at work on a real account, read our PlugKit review.
Cheaper alternatives to Buffer?
If price is the only issue, three options read on October 24, 2026:
- Publer: $4 per account per month billed yearly on Professional, and a Free plan with 3 accounts (X excluded).
- Metricool: Free plan for 1 brand, then $25 a month for 5 brands billed monthly, comment-to-DM included for a limited time according to its pricing page.
- Zernio: 2 free accounts, then $6 per account from 3 to 10, an API built for developers.
Details, plus four more tools sorted by need, are in our Buffer alternative guide.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Buffer cost per month?
Billed monthly, $6 per channel on Essentials and $12 per channel on Team for your first 10 channels, less after that. That's $30 for 5 channels on Essentials and $60 on Team (prices read on buffer.com on October 24, 2026, taxes not specified).
Is Buffer free?
Yes, with the Free plan: 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel at a time, 100 ideas, 1 user and 30 days of insights. Paid plans have a 14-day trial; without a payment method, the account drops back to Free at the end.
Is Buffer cheaper billed yearly?
Yes: Buffer quotes about $5 per channel on Essentials and about $10 on Team billed yearly, versus $6 and $12 billed monthly for the first 10 channels. The exact yearly price beyond 10 channels isn't in our data: check Buffer's pricing page.
What counts as a channel on Buffer?
One social account connected to Buffer. A brand with an Instagram account and a Facebook Page uses 2 channels, so 5 brands like that use 10.
Does Buffer charge per user?
No, Buffer charges per channel. Essentials includes 1 user; Team gives you unlimited users, but costs $12 per channel instead of $6 for the first 10 channels.
Is Buffer cheaper than PlugKit?
For publishing only, yes up to 19 channels on Essentials billed monthly ($96 at 19 channels versus $97 for PlugKit Pro). At 30 accounts, PlugKit costs $97 versus $135 on Buffer Essentials. PlugKit also includes DMs and comment-to-DM, which Buffer's pages don't mention.
Let your AI do your social media chores.
Affiliate link: it costs you nothing extra.
Verified sources
- Buffer pricing in plain text (plans, tiers, trial, November 2025 price update) (2026-10-24)
- Buffer pricing page (channels, API quotas) (2026-10-24)
- PlugKit pricing in plain text (2026-10-24)
- PlugKit billing (trial, account tiers, X costs) (2026-10-24)